## Foreword

On the initiative of Mr. Ion Iliescu, President of Romania, the International Commission on the Holocaust in Romania was established on October 22, 2003. The Commission was conceived from the very beginning as an independent research body, free of any influence and political consideration. The Commission's budget and composition were approved under Government Decision no. 227 of February 20, 2004, and no. 672 of May 5, 2004, respectively.

At the invitation of the President of Romania, Mr. Elie Wiesel, Nobel Peace Prize laureate and honorary member of the Romanian Academy, accepted the chairmanship of the Commission.

The Commission's aim was to research the facts and determine the truth about the Holocaust in Romania during World War II and the events preceding this tragedy. The results of the research by the Commission are presented in this Report, based exclusively on scientific standards.

The Commission met three times—in Washington from May 16 to May 22, 2004, in Jerusalem from September 6 to September 9, 2004, and in Bucharest from November 8 to November 13, 2004—to evaluate the state of research and draft the Final Report. On November 11, 2004, the Final Report of the International Commission on the Holocaust in Romania was presented to the President of Romania.

We hope that the Commission's conclusions and recommendations will promote the education on and understanding of the Holocaust among all citizens, and particularly the youth of Romania, as well as contribute to further research on the subject.

Besides Mr. Elie Wiesel, the Commission included respected experts in history, the humanities, and the social sciences from Romania and abroad, survivors of the Holocaust, representatives of national and international Jewish and Roma organizations and representatives of the Romanian Presidency: Tuvia Friling (State Archivist of Israel), Radu Ioanid (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum) and Mihail E. Ionescu (Institute for Political Defense and Military History, Bucharest)—vice-chairmen, Ioan Scurtu (Commission secretary—Nicolae Iorga Institute of History, Bucharest), Viorel Achim (Nicolae Iorga Institute of History, Bucharest), Jean Ancel (Yad Vashem, Jerusalem), Colette

Avital (member of Israeli Parliament), Andrew Baker (American Jewish Committee), Lya Benjamin (Center for the Study of Jewish History, Bucharest), Liviu Beris (Association of the Survivors of the Holocaust in Romania), Randolph Braham (City University of New York), Irina Cajal Marin (Federation of Jewish Communities of Romania), Adrian Cioflâncă (A.D. Xenopol Institute of History, Iasi), Ioan Ciupercă (A.I. Cuza University, Iasi), Alexandru Elias (Federation of Jewish Communities of Romania), Alexandru Florian (Dimitrie Cantemir University, Bucharest), Mihai Dinu Gheorghiu (Centre de Sociologie Europeene, Paris), Hildrun Glass (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universitaet, Munich), Menachem Hacohen (Chief Rabbi of Romania), Vasile Ionescu (Aven Amentza Roma Center), Corneliu Mihai Lungu (National Archives of Romania), Daniel S. Mariaschin (B'nai B'rith International), Victor Opaschi (Presidential Counselor), Andrei Pippidi (University of Bucharest), Ambassador Meir Rosenne (Israel), Liviu Rotman (University of Tel Aviv), Michael Shafir (Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty), Paul Shapiro (United States Holocaust Memorial Museum), William Totok (Arbeitskreis fuer Geschichte, Germany), Raphael Vago (University of Tel Aviv), George Voicu (National School for Political and Administrative Studies, Bucharest), Leon Volovici (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)-members.