Friends  |  Press Room  |  Contact Us

The International School for Holocaust Studies

Historical Timeline

  • August 23, 1939: Ribbentrop/Molotov non-aggression agreement signed between Nazi Germany and the Soviet Union.
  • September 1, 1939: Nazi Germany invaded Poland, thus beginning World War II
  • September 3, 1939: Britain, France, India, Australia and New Zealand declare war on Nazi Germany
  • September 17, 1939: The Soviets annex Poland as part of the Ribbentrop/Molotov agreement
  • June 15, 1940: The Soviet Union annexes Lithuania, which until then was an independent state. This was part of the Ribbentrop/Molotov agreement
  • July, 1940: All foreign representatives in Kovno, are instructed to close their legations, on orders of the new Soviet authorities, endangering the escape of many Jewish refugees who had already fled from Nazi occupied Poland to Lithuania and were planning to leave for other European or Asian destinations
  • June 22, 1941: Nazi Germany invades the Soviet Union
  • June 24, 1941: Kovno occupied by Nazi forces
  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • Blog